MAC CLIENT Discontinued PlayonMAc Program
Exclamation 
Once again Cryptic has crashed the MAC client.... 

Unable to start game clientConfuseduccess    Angry Angry Angry

Not happy, every single new season they release this happens, and they hardly offer any support for mac users... 

EDIT- the temporary fix using PlayonMac below does work. 

EMERGENCY FIX DETAILS- 

Please note: TO BE APPLIED AT THE USERS OWN RISK, I am not a computer expert. 

1) GO to the existing STO application, and show package contents. 

2) Create a shortcut on the desktop of the Star Trek Online.exe file, which can be found by clicking on these folders in order ; 

contents, resources, transgaming, c_drive, StarTrekOnline, and in the last file, the .exe program should be at the bottom of the folder. 

3) Install PlayonMac- https://www.playonmac.com/en/     uses Wine wrapper to run windows apps on mac

4) Create Virtual Drive- To do this go to install a program on the main menu,  then click on Install a non-listed program

5) Once Virtual Drive has been made, Press Configure on the main menu then click on the Virtual Drive you want to run STO on. 

6) Click on the Miscellaneous  tab, and click on run an .exe file on this virtual drive. 

6)  Then in the open a program window, go to desktop, and run the Star Trek Online.exe file, and the launcher should load after several seconds. 

7) After loading(see notes below)  you may find that it is quite choppy and laggy. To fix this, you need to go to the in game graphics settings, and turn everything to off, low, or minimum, which will make a lot of the lag go away, which makes the game playable. For me at least the picture quality was fine, not too much difference from the normal mac client on max settings. 

Notes

1)  After launching it will take some time (up to 15 mins) for the game to load, especially on the New Dawn loading page. be patient, it will work, just give it some time.