STO Academy Forum
gamecrash - Printable Version

+- STO Academy Forum (http://forum.stoacademy.com)
+-- Forum: Star Trek Online (http://forum.stoacademy.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Forum: STO Discussions (http://forum.stoacademy.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: gamecrash (/showthread.php?tid=5156)

gamecrash - timverbesselt - 05-21-2018

Hi,

Is this a problem that happend to others or is it just me?
I have played this game for years now and now or a few weeks the game goes black after I'm logged in for a while.
The only thing I can do is restart the pc.
I do hear ingame sounds when the screen is black ...

RE: gamecrash - MichaelGill - 05-21-2018

I've never seen that happen. Mine crashed in the middle of a mission over the weekend. First time ever since I started playing several years ago. I did a "force verify" on the files and it seems fine now. You could give that a try. It only takes a short time to complete.

RE: gamecrash - timverbesselt - 05-21-2018

how do I do that?
My gamecrash occurs mostly in the middle of a mission or map transfer

just tried force verify, started the game again, flew to a starbase, entered it and walked around, after a few minutes black screen.
I also tried to install dx9 as troubleshooting of cryptic suggests and tried to start the game in 32bit mode.

I also had to do that. I forgot to mention it because I forgot. I also know they have been having Nvidia driver issues with certain OS versions. That could be something to check into.

and what issues are that? cause it is a Nvidea card running on win10
Next I tried was focng the dx9 to the game command line: -d3d9 and redused graphics ingae.
I can play for a while but still it shuts down after a while.
Now I watched what happens after the screen goes black and  I see its just the monito that is shutting down and wont get back up, still have to do a hard reset to go on the pc again.